Social media was buzzing on Monday with the news that Mr Price had acquired high-end kitchen product retailer, Yuppiechef!

For those who love high-end kitchenware, Yuppiechef is a firm favourite for online shopping. The brand has made a name for itself over the past 15 years by offering quality products and personalised service.

The Cape Town based company was lauded for their hand-written ‘thank you’ notes to customers when they first entered the South African market. They have since won numerous awards for their novel approach to business.

Acquiring Yuppiechef will take the Mr Price brand up a notch – entering into a different marketspace than the one it currently occupies.

What does this mean for fans of Mr Price and Yuppiechef?

What’s going to change?

According to Mr Price CEO, Mark Blair, they will be growing the product assortment on the Yuppiechef site while taking on board the brand’s strengths in terms of its customer relations skills.

While Mr Price has bought the brand, the Yuppiechef management team will continue to run the business, so fans of the brand will continue to experience the same service and product offerings they’ve become accustomed to.

We’re still the same brand, with the same products, same teams in place, same leaders, service levels and values. Joining up with the Mr Price Group gives us the support to do more of what we do well, not less and will carry on to keep our service levels as high as we can,” posted the Yuppiechef brand on social media shortly after the announcement.

“”The operations for each will still remain separate, and targeted at different customer groups. We’re still the same brand, with the same products, same teams in place, same leaders, service levels and values. We’ve no interest in losing the details that you love most about us.”

What Mzansi has to say

For some, the news that Mr Price had acquired Yuppiechef had them hoping that the cost of products on the high-end site might come down.

 


While others said it was a good move for Mr Price – opening up doors into a bigger market for them.


Most are just excited to see what new products could be added to the offering:

 

READ MORE in Latest News: