Airlink has launched a limited scheduled domestic air service, with flights on the Johannesburg-Cape Town and Johannesburg-Durban trunk routes from Monday, 8 June.

This follows the country’s move to Level 3 Covid-19 restrictions, which allows a three-phase resumption of domestic flights.

  • Phase 1, which came into effect on Monday, permits flights between Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban
  • Phase 2 will see some of the inland airports brought on-stream once the system has been stress-tested and proven
  • Phase 3 will enable services to the other coastal and inland cities

Airlink said it would add more flights to its schedule from 15 June.

It said: “While we are doing everything, we can to provide a safe and bio-secure environment, this system is only effective if travellers, airline and airport personnel practice good personal hygiene and social distancing etiquette, such as wearing face masks or coverings at all times in the airport and onboard our planes, frequently sanitising or washing hands with soap and water, avoiding touching mouths, noses, eyes and other people and not travelling if feeling unwell.”

Below is the airline’s schedule:

Subscribe to our Free Daily All4Women Newsletter to enter


Tickets are on sale at IATA-registered travel agents or online.

The airline announced earlier this year it would independently operate using its own flight code “4Z”.

According to a statement released by Airlink, this will enable the airline to develop more routes and frequencies independently, and provides opportunities to establish new agreements with leading international airlines.

For more news your way, download The Citizen’s app for iOS and Android.

Citizen reporter – Citizen

The post Airlink releases schedule for limited domestic flights appeared first on Citizen.