Last updated on Sep 26th, 2019 at 01:28 pm

By Dr John Demartini, human behaviourist and founder of The Demartini Institute

There are primary areas of life that we are here to master; our spiritual, mental, vocational, financial, familial, social and physical quests for excellence.

These areas can either become empowered or disempowered. There are also seven primary fantasies and resultant fears that can disempower, fragment or lessen our full potential in each of these areas.

The primary difference between someone who does what they love and empowers all seven of them and someone who doesn’t, is that the former has the ability to identify their fantasies or unrealistic expectations and fears and has a strategy to go and break through or neutralise them.

The seven primary fears that limit our self-belief

The first fear is the spiritual fear of breaking some perceived spiritual authority’s values or ethics

Morals are the rules we impose on ourselves, and ethics are the collective rules imposed from others onto ourselves. Many people let those fears stop them from doing what they love and expressing their genius because they fear that others may not approve of them. We live according to our own values not always others.

Subscribe to our Free Daily All4Women Newsletter to enter

The second fear is the mental fear of not knowing enough

This fear can keep us from doing what we really love, “I just don’t know enough. I’m not smart enough. I don’t have the education for it.”

That’s another illusion because we have the capacity to do whatever we dream of doing, at the level we are on now, and grow to next. No matter how much we know we will have the unknown.

We attract opportunities according to our level of knowing. As we know more we grow more and have the blessing to experience ever greater opportunities. By loving ourselves even when we don’t know, we liberate ourselves to learn.

The third fear is the vocational fear of failure

We must be able to love our perceptions of failure as much as success since you will perceive ourselves failing and succeeding equally and constantly throughout our lives. There are times we have set ourselves goals and didn’t fulfill them: everyone does.

We perceive ourselves as a success and failure constantly throughout our life, and we need both. Both act as feedback mechanisms to help us set real objectives in realistic times

The fourth fear is the financial fear of loss of money or the inability to make money

Here we fear that if we were do what we truly would love to do, we wouldn’t make enough money at it. If we love something and are committed to doing whatever it takes to achieve, value money and wealth building, follow the financial laws of sustainable fair exchange, save and invest – we can certainly build wealth doing what we would love.

The fifth fear is around family and losing our loved ones

Many people feel that if they do what they love they will lose someone they love. What can really stabilise a marriage, is when we don’t so much need each other as we just love, appreciate and respect each other. There’s a big difference. If we both have independent lives, and if either of us were to leave, the other would still function.

The sixth fear is the fear of social rejection

This is a big fear. Some people are not doing what they love because they’re afraid people will reject them. The truth is, acceptance and rejection are conserved throughout our life and the more extraordinary we become the more we will receive of both.

If we learn to appreciate both equally we are free. People come and go, they’re transient, but we are with ourselves for the whole journey and it’s our life. Never sacrifice the eternal for the transient. Embrace both sides of life equally.

The seventh and last fear is the fear of ill health, death, or disease

Some people don’t live their dream because they’re afraid they’ll die if they do, or they won’t have the energy or vitality.

But one of the greatest causes of illness, disease, and death is not living our dreams. That’ll kill us quicker than anything else.

Inspiration and gratitude heal and empower, and if we’re not doing what we love, we’ll feel ungrateful and unfulfilled

We can break through or break down in all seven areas of life

If we break down we’re listening to our fearful self, if we break through we’ve listening to our immortal self.

But we are unwise to think that we’re ever going to be without fears in our life. Fear means we’re growing and challenging ourselves beyond our comfort zones.

I have fears almost every week, but I know that my fears are due to incomplete views of what is occurring so I identify the fear, bring my perception back into balance and then walk through it.