Whether you’re worried you’re becoming too obsessive or simply feel the need to take a break from the distraction of Facebook, a social media hiatus is a great idea every now and then.
Here’s how to deactivate your Facebook account temporarily…
Social media has become all-consuming for many people. If you are someone who frequents Facebook, chances are you are probably moderately to heavily involved in posting, sharing, and browsing your friendsâ?? posts and profiles. Sometimes it all just becomes a bit much and a break is in order. It is during these times that it may be to your benefit to deactivate your account. This will prevent messages and posts from piling up while you are away.
Facebook allows you to deactivate and then reactivate whenever you are ready to do so again. The best part is it really isnâ??t that difficult to do.
How to deactivate your Facebook account temporarily
From any Facebook page, click the account menu down arrow. Youâ??ll find it in the top right corner of the page. A dropdown menu will appear. Select â??account settingsâ? from this menu.
Look for the â??securityâ? tab. It should be located on the left side of the page. Click this tab. This is where you will be able to deactivate your account.
Once you have clicked the â??securityâ? tab, find and click on â??deactivate your accountâ?. Your account should then be deactivated.
What happens to your Facebook account information?
It is important to note that just because your Facebook account is no longer active, that doesnâ??t mean your information is no longer on the Internet. Whenever you post anything on your social media pages, it still lingers even after your account has been deactivated. While not everyone would be able to find it and though it may not all still be there, remnants will still be lurking around.
This is why you should never post anything you donâ??t want the masses to see. Avoid posting personal information. This is as much for your safety as it is for identity theft purposes.
How to reactivate your Facebook account
When you are ready to reactivate your account, youâ??ll need to log in to Facebook with the email address and password you used to create it. Your account, profile and friends list will all still be there. While your account is deactivated, you will not appear on your friends’ pages and they wonâ??t be able to find you in a search until your account has been reactivated. All other information should still be intact and you can then resume posting, sharing, and reading right where you left off.
Taking a break from Facebook every now and then isnâ??t a bad idea. It will give you more time with family and friends and might even entice you to take part in activities that donâ??t involve a computer for a change. You may even welcome this much needed and deserved break.