(By Michael Sherman)

JOHANNESBURG, June 10 (ANA) – South Africa’s Gerda Steyn won R1.2m with her record-breaking up-run victory in the Comrades Marathon from Durban to Pietermaritzburg on Sunday.

Steyn stopped the clock in 5 hours 58 minutes 53 seconds, smashing the up-run record over 10 minutes faster than the 6:09:23 of Russian Elena Nurgalieva in 2004.

The 29-year-old’s hefty payday comprised a first prize of R500,000 plus a R500,000 incentive for breaking the up-run record; in addition to the prize for the first South African which was another R200,000.

Steyn was also an incredible 18:48 ahead of second-placed Alexandra Morozova of Russia.

WIN a R 2,000 Woolworths Voucher

Subscribe to our Free Daily All4Women Newsletter to enter

“I can’t believe it. I can’t even feel my legs at the moment,” Steyn said.

“I feel blessed and grateful for my race today.

“Last year I was so focussed on my plan, and this year I took it the way I felt, and when I realised the record was on I knew that’s where my race was really starting.

“I gave it my all and left everything on the road.”

Women’s top-10 results:

  1. Gerda Steyn (RSA, Nedbank Running Club Johannesburg), 5:58:53
  2. Alexandra Morozova (RUS, Ural -100), 6:17:40
  3. Caitriona Jennings (IRL, Nedbank International), 6:24:12
  4. Ann Ashworth (RSA, Massmart Athletics Club – CG), 6:27:15
  5. Dominika Stelmach (POL, Nedbank International), 6:34:58
  6. Jenna Challenor (RSA, Murray & Roberts Running Club – CG), 6:35:18
  7. Aigul Mingazova (UKR), 6:43:56
  8. Charne Bosman (RSA, Murray & Roberts Running Club – CG), 6:49:39
  9. Catrin Jones (CAN, Nedbank International), 6:52:44
  10. Mary Khourie (RSA, Murray & Roberts Running Club – CG), 6:55:27

Men’s top-10 results:

  1. Edward Mothibi (RSA, Nedbank Running Club Gauteng North), 5:31:33
  2. Bongmusa Mthembu (RSA, Arthur Ford AC), 5:31:58
  3. Nao Kazami (JPN, Shin-Chan Running Club), 5:39:16
  4. Mahlomola Sekhonyana (RSA, Phantane Athletic Club), 5:43:52
  5. Joseph Manyedi (RSA, Nedbank Running Club Gauteng North), 5:44:34
  6. Justin Chesire (KEN, Nedbank International), 5:45:13
  7. Henri Ansio (FIN, Nedbank International), 5:45:29
  8. Marko Mambo (ZIM, Nedbank Running Club Zimbabwe), 5:48:30
  9. Gordon Lesetedi (RSA, Entsika Athletics Club – CG), 5:52:40
  10. Siya Mqambeli (RSA, Entsika Athletics Club – CG), 5:52:51

Author: ANA Newswire